Power Supply Help Needed - TAC Scorpion II

Graham Langley founded Amek in 1973 with Nick Franks. Since then, AMEK and TAC recording consoles have been the choice of demanding audio professionals for over 25 years.

Moderator: Matt Syson

Re: Power Supply Help Needed - TAC Scorpion II

Postby crunch » Sat Feb 09, 2013 7:19 pm

Hello Paul,
Welcome to the forum, there's always help here!

As per your question, that's an easy one, I highly recommend GRS Pro Audio:

http://www.grssystems.com/
crunch

"I have a well-thought-out plan that carries minimal risk to innocent bystanders"
User avatar
crunch
Tape Saturation Specialist
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Power Supply Help Needed - TAC Scorpion II

Postby Jim Williams » Mon Feb 11, 2013 10:52 am

If you want to spend less and can solder a few wires up, consider a pair of Power One 15V 9 amp modules and a 1/2 amp 48 volter for phantom.

That's pretty much what you will get from GRS minus the packaging.
Jim Williams
Audio Upgrades
Jim Williams
Yacht Rocker
 
Posts: 362
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:58 am
Location: beautiful Carlsbad, CA

Re: Power Supply Help Needed - TAC Scorpion II

Postby zilla » Sun Oct 19, 2014 8:28 am

Stumbled across this thread whilst investigating PSU for a DDA potentially and also musing over the fate of my Trident Trimix..

Felt compelled to add a different slant on the Blue Dog PSU's from the UK, as someone who has bought one to replace my original Trident PSU...

Gotta say firstly that Tim who makes them is a REALLY nice fellow and very very helpful, he wouldn't have any problem sorting out problems or discussing issues with anyone I don't think..

He turned around my order quickly and delivered to my door, the PSU is working perfectly and has helped my console somewhat although I have a couple of issues that cannot be ascribed to the PSU

The BLUE DOG I bought has performed flawlessly in the 1.5 years i've had it... It also consumes less power than the old Trident one it would seem according to my bills but does deliver more current to my desk.. win/win

Anyway, I'm sure GRS or other companies make amazing units and i'm sure like everything there are many lengths you can go to if you should so need to...

But for the sake of fairness and shared consumer experience, plus it felt like he and his Blue Dog were getting a bit of abashing in this thread and in my personal experience it seems unwarranted.

If Paul S or anyone has felt hard done by... they should get back in touch with Tim and tell him..

It may be academic now as a better solution has been found... but internet posts slagging people or their products off can last forever so I'm just here to give a thumbs up to the Blue Dog PSU I got..cos it's doing it's job very well thank you!!


One Love

Zzilla
zilla
Analog Enthusiast
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 9:10 am

Re: Power Supply Help Needed - TAC Scorpion II

Postby AnalogStudio7 » Mon Oct 20, 2014 2:37 pm

Hi Zilla,

I have to add my 2 cents in also about my experiences with switch mode power supplies.

I had an AMEK 401 switch mode power supply system that was terrible! That thing put so much noise on the power rails that it was coming through the console audio! Then the little power modules started burning up, literally, inside the unit! Had it rebuilt and then it failed a week later. Come to find out, this was pretty common with these AMEK switching power supplies

I bought another switch mode power supply that was supposed to have all these filters to keep the switching noises out of the audio. This was supposed to be a high end switching power supply system. It looked great and seemed OK at first...then the noises started in the monitors. Had a tech come out and he swapped out the PSU with one he had back at his shop that was NOT a switching power supply unit and then no noise. Seems the fancy switching power supply system was putting a lot of crap noise that got into the console audio.

So I stay far, far away from ANY switching power supply unit for ANY critical audio system use!

Zilla, I would be curious to know what brand of switching power supply units are inside of your Blue Dog power supply? Unless they are using some super wonderful new contraption in there, I remain a complete disbeliever in switching power supplies for PRO audio consoles!

Cheers!

Greg
AnalogStudio7
Lake Forest, CA 92630
USA
AnalogStudio7
Yacht Rocker
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:37 pm
Location: Lake Forest, CA 92630, USA

Re: Power Supply Help Needed - TAC Scorpion II

Postby zilla » Sat Nov 01, 2014 11:32 pm

[quote][/quote]

Can't say I'm any kinda technical expert, never looked inside my one and I'm away in Mexico atm so can't really find out.

But anyone interested could contact Tim and ask I'm sure..

I guess it's a case of ymmv and if I could try a different type of psu like yours just to compare I'd love too out of pure curiosity but for now my Blue Dogg is working perfectly well afaik or at least when I left for the airport!!!

Thanks for the heads up, I'll look into it..

One Love.

Zz.
zilla
Analog Enthusiast
 
Posts: 16
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 9:10 am

Bue Dog psu "bad mouth " post by Paul S Imagineering

Postby studiotim24 » Sun Apr 19, 2015 12:52 pm

Hi " Analogue Console Guys" I think your doing great work keeping the analogue flag flying , well done , but I am pretty upset by this post I found via GOOGLE search by "Paul S imagineering " slagging off my Blue Dog Psus ; I am the guy making them in the UK and I have sold nearly 180 in the last 4 years for all kinds of consoles and not one has faulted , who is this guy Paul S ?To my knowledge I have never heard of him and he certainly hasnt bought a power supply from me , or contacted me about one : his "story" looks "full of holes " about how the Blue Dog " FRIED itself ", this is impossible you could place a six inch nail across the outputs and they would just shut down . The only thing that could have happened is the OUTPUT TERMINALS could have worked loose and caused a HOT SPOT , but they would have never "FRIED " as he put it , and a real long shot as you would have noticed an intermittent voltage rail long before they shut down : I have tried to contact the "admin" of this FORUM to have this post reviewed /removed but no response so far : Come on guys this kind of MUD SLINGING is very unprofessional and unfortunately hangs around on SEARCH ENGINES for years : please give a guy a break !! Best Regards Tim from Studio Systems /Blue Dog PSUs
studiotim24
Analog Owner
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 5:34 am

Re: Power Supply Help Needed - TAC Scorpion II

Postby Matt Syson » Mon Apr 20, 2015 6:07 am

Hi
Regarding the recent highlighted 'issues' with switchmode power supply units.
As always there are several factors that need to be addressed and I have ALWAYS recommended caution when using switchmode supplies.
Not all 'old' desks will be happy with ALL types of supply. When the Scorpion desks were first made virtually no one used switchmodes as the technology to do it well and reliably was too 'new'. As a result the desks were never tested and 'specified' to use switchmodes so there is a reasonable chance that 'noise' from a switchmode could appear on the audio. More recent desks of ALL manufacture that MIGHT use a switcher would be tested with them and would usually feature extra filtering. Certainly the AMEK desks that may be supplied with switchers following their introduction had allowances for this.
AMEK did not manufacture their own switcher supplies but bought in modules from several manufacturers and housed them in 'AMEK' boxes. Additional HF filtering was provided inside these units. Anyone attempting to connect 'Non original' supplies to ANY desk MUST make sure that full consideration is made of possible noise, safety and that FIRE protection is taken care of. Installing new supplies with greatly over (original supply) current capability runs the risk of serious damage to frame wiring or circuit boards.
I have no connection with Tim at 'Blue Dog' and have not even seen any of his supplies so cannot comment on any aspect of them however as with all things, occasionally something goes wrong, in which case contact the manufacturer DIRECT (or dealer if appropriate) and take the problem there.
Switchmode technology is all around and if designed and SPECIFIED correctly it is very reliable but occasionally things go wrong.
Matt S
Matt Syson
Engineer
 
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 6:04 am
Location: North UK

Re: Power Supply Help Needed - TAC Scorpion II

Postby studiotim24 » Wed Apr 22, 2015 4:48 am

Thanks Matt , for the reassurance about switchers and yes if Pauls Post is genuine why hasnt he contacted me and got a refund ? I would like to hear from him . As Matt pointed out switchers are used everywhere these days even on aircraft / military and medical which proves huge advances have been made in the last 25 years : but you still need to use specific types with good filters for AUDIO , which is what I do for the BLUE DOGS , and 180 supplies later no failures /no returns :so I must be doing something right :) Once again thanks for flying the analogue flag , and Paul (if your real) please contact me on facebook/Blue Dog power supplies + return the " fried dog " (I still don't believe it /they taste better boiled !!! ) for a full refund . Greetings from Cornwall : Tim
studiotim24
Analog Owner
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 5:34 am

Re: Power Supply Help Needed - TAC Scorpion II

Postby Matt Syson » Wed Apr 22, 2015 5:45 am

Hi
Having just re read the various posts on this thread I find it quite 'ironic' that so many are saying 'NO switcher at any cost' but will then be using a computer of some sort to record the music and no doubt other 'digital' units that in most cases will be using switchmode supplies.
If you read the forums there are many 'help I get computer noise on my audio' requests, for which most of these are simply (!) poorly specified and implemented switchmode supply related.
It ALL boils down to specifying the right unit for the particular job. This includes the specifications for 'noise' that is anything other than 'pure DC' measured from fractions of a Hz up to many MegaHz which can emanate from a supply either by conduction or radiation. This can be a pretty tall order and the filtering necessary (and it's attendant problems) can cost as much as the basic supply 'module'.
Of course ' it takes 2 to tango' so gear that is powered by or even simply connected to a switchmode supply MUST have some 'filtering' of it's own. Many pieces of 'old' gear do not have this filtering so rely even more heavily on a clean supply.
Matt S
Matt Syson
Engineer
 
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 6:04 am
Location: North UK

Re: Power Supply Help Needed - TAC Scorpion II

Postby Matt Syson » Tue Jul 14, 2015 8:53 am

Hi
Since the original poster failed to enter any reasonable 'discussion' with regard to a power supply that he claimed had failed and through the comments put forward indicated that he understood little about power supplies I have deleted the post.
As with everything in life there are at least 2 stories and as the original post had not been prepared to state the serial number of his power supply or even attempted to enter a dialogue with Tim, the manufacturer, who had offered assistance, it can only be assumed that there was a degree of 'trolling' going on.
Modern well designed and properly filtered switchmode supplies are perfectly capable of supplying older gear BUT a full and thorough test of all parameters MUST be made before putting the equipment into use.
Matt S
Matt Syson
Engineer
 
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 6:04 am
Location: North UK

Next

Return to AMEK & TAC Recording Consoles

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron
 
Mr Patchbay sells patchbays, tt/bantam cables and more