SuperTrue Software Emulation

Graham Langley founded Amek in 1973 with Nick Franks. Since then, AMEK and TAC recording consoles have been the choice of demanding audio professionals for over 25 years.

Moderator: Matt Syson

Re: SuperTrue Software Emulation

Postby swor27 » Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:23 am

VERY INTERESTED!!!! I just purchased a BIG 44 and would love to have a "newer" comp to get the automation and, most importantly, recall working!

Thanks for your help and hard work!!
swor27
VU Meter Specialist
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:10 am

Re: SuperTrue Software Emulation

Postby AnalogStudio7 » Sat Sep 05, 2015 12:40 am

swor27...

I got an IBM automation card for my PC from GRS and had them make up the cables I needed and some other things. You might want to give them a shout. They have lots of AMEK experience and a lot of new and used AMEK desks and parts.

grssystems.com

Cheers!

Greg
AnalogStudio7
AnalogStudio7
Lake Forest, CA 92630
USA
AnalogStudio7
Yacht Rocker
 
Posts: 154
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 2:37 pm
Location: Lake Forest, CA 92630, USA

Re: SuperTrue Software Emulation

Postby Matt Syson » Sat Sep 05, 2015 3:06 am

Hi
The AMEK Big, Recall and 501 use the Com and printer ports of a PC to communicate and all other cards for the automation are built into the desk and come 'as standard'. In fact they would not work without them as the main processor card is running all the time even if not using Supertrue.
You would only need a card (979) in the computer if you have an Einstein, Hendrix, Mozart, Angela2, DMS, Rembrandt or Galileo. 9098 (desks) probably uses a 979 but the board it links to inside the desk is different to all the others. There were also a handful of Classic and the FAME work surface that used 979.
Matt S
Matt Syson
Engineer
 
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 6:04 am
Location: North UK

Re: SuperTrue Software Emulation

Postby swor27 » Sun Sep 06, 2015 9:55 pm

Thank you for the info analog7 and Matt. I'll look into contacting them.
swor27
VU Meter Specialist
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Sep 04, 2015 9:10 am

Re: SuperTrue Software Emulation

Postby derekjsmith » Wed Feb 10, 2016 6:37 pm

An update on my testing with SuperTrue automation. The SuperTrue software was written more like a real time OS. In that it reads the serial RS-232 UART data at a fixed polling interval for the data coming in. This is why the PC CPU has to be clocked exactly at 133mhz. Too fast or slow and it will drop inbound data. The Amek CPU and comms card output data at a fixed rate as a constant stream. The software would poll the PC UART at 4800 times a second to pull the data off one byte at a time. Most likely a fixed timer loop based on a CPU of 133mhz was written to do this.
derekjsmith
Analog Enthusiast
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 11:21 am

Re: SuperTrue Software Emulation

Postby Matt Syson » Thu Feb 11, 2016 3:08 am

Hi
Since Supertrue will run on an old '486 and on machines up to 133MHz without alterations I suspect this is not quite true.
133 MHz was deemed the 'limit' due to other considerations.
Matt
Matt Syson
Engineer
 
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 6:04 am
Location: North UK

Re: SuperTrue Software Emulation

Postby derekjsmith » Mon Feb 15, 2016 9:51 pm

Matt in my testing if the CPU was slower than 133mhz then SuperTrue also was not reliable. All the docs I have specifically say 133mhz. Either way the IO clocking seems to be very sensitive to the CPU speed and as a result emulators will not work.
derekjsmith
Analog Enthusiast
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 11:21 am

Re: SuperTrue Software Emulation

Postby Matt Syson » Tue Feb 16, 2016 11:16 am

Hi
You have to be careful to define which 'version' and platform you are using for the supertrue.
On a Recall, Big and 501 it uses the com ports to communicate whereas on the other desks EXCEPT the 9098 (and i) there is an AMEK comms card fitted (979).
The 133MHz was established by several of us in the factory messing around with clock rates and determining the point at which it stopped being reliable, and was done with a Pentium (the first version) that could clock to 166MHz or maybe a little more. The point of this was to be able to state that ALL systems used with 'factory approved' hardware WOULD work and that AMEK would honour any warranty. Similarly the standard power cables for many desks were defined as 8 Metres or thereabouts although one afternoon I hooked up a 'Classic' with 48 Metres of cables (from all the desks on the shop floor at the time) and proved it was still happy.
There were continual 'tweaks' of software to cover different issues and 'upgrades' although the 'Official' published version (at any moment in time) was certified to work on all applicable desks.
The lowest 'official' processor speed was a 486 DX4 I believe.
Matt s
Matt Syson
Engineer
 
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 6:04 am
Location: North UK

Re: SuperTrue Software Emulation

Postby derekjsmith » Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:50 am

Matt thanks for the info.

I'm currently looking for a backup system for SuperTrue. Mine works on our Big 44. Is the original Amek PC with a 586 board. I've serviced the computer. New fans, new floppy drive, running a IDE SSD.

We use automation and recall on almost every project. So need to make sure we have a spare.
derekjsmith
Analog Enthusiast
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2015 11:21 am

Re: SuperTrue Software Emulation

Postby Matt Syson » Tue Mar 01, 2016 12:15 pm

Hi
I suppose any 'PC' that will run MS DOS 6.22 or DR DOS that gives suitable operating 'space' in Low mem area (921K ?) should be OK.
Old Laptops are also viable as it uses the RS232 and printer ports.
Backing up your data to floppies or a second drive of some sort is good. The program itself can be copied easily, maybe 'clone' a spare hard disk so you have a running version with minimal 'messing about'.
I gave up on computers a long while ago so DOS command lines are rather patchy now!
Matt S
Matt Syson
Engineer
 
Posts: 1030
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 6:04 am
Location: North UK

Previous

Return to AMEK & TAC Recording Consoles

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

 
Mr Patchbay sells patchbays, tt/bantam cables and more