Studer 900 restoration

Everything else! Allen & Heath, Altec, Altec Lansing, API, Auditronics, Audix, Binson, CAD, Custom, D&R, DataMix, DDA, Decca, Dynamix, Electrodyne, EMI, Euphonix, Fairchild, Focusrite, GML, Harrison, Helios, Hill, Langevin, MCI, Midas, Neotek, Neumann, Otari, Quad 8, Ramsa, RCA, Sony, Soundtracs, Soundworkshop, Studiomaster, Tascam, TEAC, Vintec, Westec, Wheatstone/Audio Arts, Yamaha, you name it, we'll try to help you out!

Moderator: gabby garcia

Studer 900 restoration

Postby malfunction » Mon Apr 01, 2013 1:15 pm

Hey,

I got a studer 902 mixer that's been sitting in the hall at my studio for the last couple years and I finally managed to get it to the control room, nice!
I've been going through it now and I first checked the mic inputs and they are all fine. So now I'm trying to figure out why the control room unit won't pass any audio. I have my headphones plugged in the PFL/Studio unit and I can monitor the channels via PFL but can't get anything out of the CR-unit headphone jack or the CR output behind the console. The unit gets power ok since all the leds light up but no audio.

Do you guys have a suggestion where I could start the troubleshooting?

Thanks,
Tomi
malfunction
Analog Enthusiast
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 2:55 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Studer 900 restoration

Postby malfunction » Thu Apr 18, 2013 8:31 am

Well isn't this an active forum...
malfunction
Analog Enthusiast
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 2:55 pm
Location: Finland

Re: Studer 900 restoration

Postby crunch » Thu Apr 18, 2013 1:17 pm

Hi Tomi,
True enough, but there's not a lot of Studer folks here, but I would suggest getting a hold of Brian Roth, you can visit his site to get his contact info:

http://brianroth.com/

He's very busy, but will likely help if you call him directly.

Good luck!
crunch

"I have a well-thought-out plan that carries minimal risk to innocent bystanders"
User avatar
crunch
Tape Saturation Specialist
 
Posts: 161
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 5:19 pm
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Studer 900 restoration

Postby jensenmann » Fri Apr 19, 2013 5:46 pm

Tomi, if it´s the first time you use your desk then you need to read the manual. There are many 900 series desks out there which are all custom made with features that doesn´t fit the standard studio situation. Many Studer desks have been made for use in broadcast, so there´s good chance that there´s something wired in an unusual way. This shoulb be noted somewhere in the documentation.

If the desk has been moved then make sure that all cards (in the mainframe/stand) are seated well.
Jens
jensenmann
Yacht Rocker
 
Posts: 263
Joined: Wed Jan 31, 2007 6:08 am
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany


Return to Everything Else

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests

 
Mr Patchbay sells patchbays, tt/bantam cables and more