MCI 636 Automation

In the late 70's, over half of the records in Billboard's Top 200 were recorded and/or mixed using MCI equipment.

Moderator: brianroth

MCI 636 Automation

Postby wychwood » Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:12 am

I'm having a weird issue with my 636 automation. it seems that a few faders are permanently grouped to each other. Specifically, channel (fader) 17 is controlled by 19, 18 is controlled by 20 then 21 is controlled by 23, and 21 is controlled by 24. All else is normal. It is as if 19 is set to be the master of a group that only 17 is in etc.. Power cycling the auto power supply and pressing the appropriate buttons to cancel and reset the automation, don't change the behavior.

I realize that the automation boards go 1-16 and 17-32, so it seems to point to the 17-32 board. Is this anything that sounds familiar or easy to fix? (re seating connectors or ICs on the auto board etc) Or, in that I'm not really a technician, do I need to have someone who has some diagnostic equipment look at it?

Anyone have any insight?

Thanks
wychwood
Analog Owner
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:06 am

Re: MCI 636 Automation

Postby wychwood » Sun Feb 28, 2010 3:11 pm

Poking around a bit further on the Automation board in question (17-32), now I have a situation where 19 controls 17-20 and 23 controls 21-24. Not quite what I was after.

Obviously, it's something somewhere on the board I'm messing with, but I don't know where to begin to look.

Anyone have any insight or thoughts?
wychwood
Analog Owner
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:06 am

Re: MCI 636 Automation

Postby MCI Chris » Sun Feb 28, 2010 5:58 pm

I would seek out Brian roth on this board. I am sure he will see this and reply.

He has been working on my 636 and refurb'd it. He really knows his stuff.

He can help you.
MCI Chris
Analog Enthusiast
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jan 16, 2010 10:29 pm
Location: Tulsa, OK

Re: MCI 636 Automation

Postby wychwood » Sun Feb 28, 2010 8:03 pm

After a day of messing around, I swapped out the multiplexer / de-multiplexer chips with ones I had from a spare digitizer board and voila it worked! It was either the chips or just reseating, not sure, but I'm back in action.
wychwood
Analog Owner
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:06 am


Return to MCI Recording Consoles

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
 
Mr Patchbay sells patchbays, tt/bantam cables and more