fader noize

In the late 70's, over half of the records in Billboard's Top 200 were recorded and/or mixed using MCI equipment.

Moderator: brianroth

fader noize

Postby redpulse » Sun May 16, 2010 7:47 am

Hello i have a problem with my 636.

the faders is having a (ground) problem i think,on every channel.
When i use the pots its no problem.
i can record with no hum and noize, but when i play the recorded material ive got this irritating problem on every channel when i use the faders.
where can the broken part be ?
my teory is that it can be the power supply

do you have some tips and tricks please help me
redpulse
Analog Enthusiast
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:12 pm

Re: fader noize

Postby brianroth » Sun May 16, 2010 8:38 am

I am a bit at a loss here....

Is this a "new" problem for the desk, or has is existed since it was installed?

Best,

Bri
http://www.BrianRoth.com
Professional audio system design/service/custom equipment
User avatar
brianroth
Yacht Rocker
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 2:04 am
Location: Oklahoma City

Re: fader noize

Postby redpulse » Mon May 17, 2010 4:18 pm

im just installing it now.
from the start i got a problem with the phantom power ,very noizy but my tech solved this with a capacitor i think,
now its lower voltage on phan,
and now its working

can it be the power supply thats needs a restoration?

the problem is when i change on brodcast /tape line
but when im using the knob pot its sounds ok

i have removed all cabels to the ampex 1100

and connected my other backup tascam through line on bantam or was it tape in? and got the returns on volyme pot
and it was working properly.
redpulse
Analog Enthusiast
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:12 pm

Re: fader noize

Postby brianroth » Wed May 19, 2010 1:42 am

Before proceeding any further, measure every power supply rail to ensure the DC voltages are correct. If the voltages seem correct, then use an oscilloscope to ensure there is no "garbage" on the rails.

A "global noise problem" often traces back to a power supply.

If all voltages are correct, and no "garbage" is seen on any rail, report back and we'll dig deeper!

Best,

Bri
http://www.BrianRoth.com
Professional audio system design/service/custom equipment
User avatar
brianroth
Yacht Rocker
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 2:04 am
Location: Oklahoma City


Return to MCI Recording Consoles

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron
 
Mr Patchbay sells patchbays, tt/bantam cables and more