Getting an M-Series up and running

With a comprehensive range of mixing consoles, Calrec has been a manufacturer of high quality audio products since 1964.

Moderators: GJC Designs, Richard Lumb

Getting an M-Series up and running

Postby adamm » Wed Feb 11, 2009 5:07 pm

Hello all. I recently bought a 24-channel M-Series console that has been out of commission for at least a decade. The person I bought it from had it in storage (climate-controlled) since he bought it from the Central Office of Information back in the mid-late 90's; it was operational at the time. I'm told that COI had it built for their Radio Studio 1 in the mid-80's, if that rings a bell for anyone.

I'm new to all of this, but looking forward to the challenge of getting this console up and running. I'm pretty much a newcomer to electronics in general, but I'd like to do as much of the work myself as possible so that I really get to know the console inside and out. That being said, I welcome any help that I can get, and I do have a decent-sized budget for parts and to pay for tech time. I'm in Chicago, so if anyone knows of a good tech in the area that has experience with these consoles, that would be wonderful. I have a couple leads that I'm currently following up on. I should also mention that the console did not come with any documentation at all. I'm trying to hunt that down as well.

Here's where things stand right now... I've got all of the modules here with me (channels, routing, faders, meters, etc). I've taken inventory of all the parts, taken pics, and documented the unit numbers. Physically, everything looks like it's in surprisingly good shape. I'm not sure if I'm missing any cards or anything. I don't know enough about the console to be able to tell yet. The frame, stand, and power supplies are in a climate-controlled storage facility. I'm working on getting them moved in. That should happen sometime this month.