Soundcraft 600 Output Issue :(

Founded in 1973, Soundcraft first made its mark with the launch of the Series 1, the first mixing console in a flightcase.

Moderator: GJC Designs

Soundcraft 600 Output Issue :(

Postby Derrick » Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:18 pm

Hi, I recently got a Soundcraft 600 that I have been posting here about lately... Anyhow, I got her cleaned up and found an issue when testing.

The control room outputs through my monitors sound like it is missing some high end much like when a tape head is poorly aligned on a cassette tape recorder (though I am using a digital recorder so that's not the issue). It also is louder on the right channel than the left channel. In fact, this is the case with both the control room outputs as well as the studio outputs, although the balance is much better on the studio room outputs than the control room outputs.

I plugged in my source and my monitors to my old board and it's fine. I plug them back into the 600 and the output through the monitors sounds bad and volumes aren't balanced as described above.

However... everything sounds GREAT and balanced correctly through my headphones! What's wrong with my control room and studio room outputs?

Help!
Derrick
VU Meter Specialist
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 11:32 pm

Re: Soundcraft 600 Output Issue :(

Postby Jim Williams » Tue Jun 04, 2013 10:16 am

You have dirty normal contacts on the headphone jack. It is the same as the control room feed. Clean off the normal points or replace the jack.
Jim Williams
Audio Upgrades
Jim Williams
Yacht Rocker
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:58 am
Location: beautiful Carlsbad, CA

Re: Soundcraft 600 Output Issue :(

Postby Derrick » Fri Jun 07, 2013 12:07 pm

Hi Jim,

That's what I thought too. However, I cleaned the headphone jack again and even re-touched the solder at the board and that didn't make a difference. I didn't replace the jack though, because almost the same thing happens for both the control room outs and the studio outs. The studio outs are not affected by plugging in headphones to the jack so I am weary of replacing it and tend to think there is a different problem.

On the control room outputs, the right speaker is almost entirely a light hiss (not much program coming through) and the right and left speakers seem like they are missing some high end like when a tape head is not aligned well. The same thing happens on the studio room outputs, except that there is more volume at the right speaker... but still less then the left speaker. I have tried swapping the left speaker jack and the right speaker jack at the back of the board and the problem stays with the right output so it's not the monitors or cable I don't think.

How can the headphone jack sound GREAT through my headphones, but the studio and control room outputs be messed up like this?

Any help greatly appreciated!
Derrick
VU Meter Specialist
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 11:32 pm

Re: Soundcraft 600 Output Issue :(

Postby Derrick » Fri Jun 07, 2013 12:13 pm

I thought about bridging the three contacts of the headphone jack at the bottom of the board with wire/solder, but a problem there should only effect the control room outputs unless there is some sort of loading.

I thought about the long traces that go from the jack to the resistor arrays that feed the balancing ICs at the outputs, but according to the schematic, I don't see how a problem there would effect the studio outputs. Very strange... headphones sound fine from headphone jack, but studio and control room outputs have a problem.
Derrick
VU Meter Specialist
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 11:32 pm

Re: Soundcraft 600 Output Issue :(

Postby Jim Williams » Sat Jun 08, 2013 10:44 am

It's easy to trace. Use a 10k hz tone generator into the tape return path. Select tape return switch. Listen with cans. All is ok? That means the circuits are operating correctly. Then trace with a scope the signal runs after the headphone jack. Where ever the tone attenuates is where it's messed up. You can short out the normal points on the jack to test it, if it's the problem, get a Hakko 808 tool and replace the jack. If it happens on the studio ouputs, that's a different feed and not related to the control room outputs.
Jim Williams
Audio Upgrades
Jim Williams
Yacht Rocker
 
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:58 am
Location: beautiful Carlsbad, CA

Re: Soundcraft 600 Output Issue :(

Postby Derrick » Wed Jul 03, 2013 10:55 pm

Update: I fixed it!

It wasn't the board at all, it was a wiring issue (monitor cables). That was a trick to figure out since the symptoms didn't really seem to fit the cause and threw off my troubleshooting. I believe that the monitor cables reacted with the outputs in a way that provided some very strange symptoms. My discovery came about by trying other ways to connect the monitor in an effort to see what worked and what didn't to isolate the problem. This led me to find that other cables worked in the same position and that my cables were the issue all along. Thanks to everyone for your time in this matter. Now to look into changing the burned out meter lamps with LEDs.
Derrick
VU Meter Specialist
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 11:32 pm

Re: Soundcraft 600 Output Issue :(

Postby elgordorecordings » Sun Nov 17, 2013 9:42 am

I too have this issue, but with my desk, but with mine it's on the Tape outputs. The headphones work fine, but it's like there is a blanket over the sound if i listen trough the tape outputs.

I recently cleaned the whole desk and , after putting it back toghetter i discoverd that my -17V on the PSU was missing. All the desk did was a horrible 50Hz rumble and all meters where in the reds.

I replaced the main caps on the PSU for all it's outputs and everything was fine.

When i tried to do my first mix, everthing was fine too. Some weeks later i returned to this mix and i wasn't getting any top highs anymore. I did a A/B with the same mix in and out the box (using the 600) and there was a hughe loss of the highs.

On the headphones everthing sounds fine.

Can anyone help me out? P.s. the Master is completly origional, no mods.

Cheers,
Peter
elgordorecordings
Analog Enthusiast
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands

Re: Soundcraft 600 Output Issue :(

Postby Derrick » Sun Nov 17, 2013 10:17 am

OK, so the mix is fine when listening through headphones? And it's only happening on the Tape outputs? So are the other outputs normal/working fine?
Derrick
VU Meter Specialist
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 11:32 pm

Re: Soundcraft 600 Output Issue :(

Postby elgordorecordings » Sun Nov 17, 2013 6:58 pm

Correct.
elgordorecordings
Analog Enthusiast
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Groningen, The Netherlands

Re: Soundcraft 600 Output Issue :(

Postby Derrick » Sun Nov 17, 2013 8:07 pm

Pull the master ch. strip and check/reseat the connections to the tape connectors. Both at the tape connectors and at the main ch. strip. It may be a dirty or worse, a connection going bad. Hopefully it's not a bad part on the main ch. board. if a quick check and reseat of the connectors don't fix it, some signal tracing may end up being in order. Others more experienced will have to chime in from here. Best of luck.
Derrick
VU Meter Specialist
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 11:32 pm

Next

Return to Soundcraft Recording Consoles

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests

 
Mr Patchbay sells patchbays, tt/bantam cables and more